While most protein powder is made from milk, lactose-free proteins have been developed for people who have milk allergies. Some are made from lactose-free dairy. Others are completely dairy-free, like plant proteins and animal proteins such as eggs and beef. “Whey protein in isolate and hydrolysate form tend to be very low to nearly no lactose in the product, and often these are well-tolerated by those with sensitivity,” recommends Douglas Kalman, Ph.D., RD.

Leave a Reply